Excellence in Research

Several YSU faculty and staff members were honored at the annual Excellence in Research event earlier this semester. Among the honorees, pictured:

Front row, from the left, Wim Steelant , dean of College of STEM, and Hazel Marie, chair of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Excellence in Research Award in Advanced Manufacturing Research; Pat Veisz, director SBDC, Williamson College of Business Administration Research Award; Tiffany Hughes, assistant professor, Sociology, Anthropology and Gerontology, CLASS Research Award; Bonita Sharif, associate professor, Computer Science and Information Systems, Career Award; and R.J. Thompson, assistant professor, Art, College of Creative Arts and Communication Research Award.

Back row, from the left, Angie Cameron, director, Center for Human Services Development, Staff Research Award; Rachel McCartney, research associate, Regional Economic Development Initiative, Catalyst Award; Jake Protivnak, chair, Counseling, School Psychology and Educational Leadership, Beeghly College of Education Research Award; Mike Hripko, associate vice president for Research; Dominic Marchionda, Regional Economic Development Initiative, Catalyst Award.

Also recognized but missing from the photo were: Atty. Greg Morgione, associate General Counsel, Research Enterprise Support; John Bralich, senior GIS and Data Services manager, Regional Economic Development Initiative, Community Engagement Award; Kathleen Aspiranti, assistant professor, Counseling, School Psychology and Educational Leadership, New Faculty Research Award; and Dennis Morawski, Chair, Social Work, Bitonte College of Health and Human Services Research Award.