Distinguished faculty recognized April 11 on campus

Dozens of Youngstown State University faculty members, including one with 50 years of service, will be honored at the annual Faculty Recognition Awards Dinner 6:15 p.m. April 11 in the Chestnut Room of Kilcawley Center.

Dan O'Neill
Dan O'Neill

Daniel O'Neill, professor of Communication, will receive a Faculty Service Award marking half of a century on the faculty at YSU. Meanwhile, Hojjat Mehri, professor of Mechanical, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, and Pamela Schuster, professor of Nursing, will be honored for 35 years of service.

Receiving Distinguished Professorship Awards are:

For excellence in teaching

  • William R. Buckler, Department of Geography
  • Cryshanna A. Jackson Leftwich, Department of Politics and International Relations
  • Ken Learman, Department of Physical Therapy
  • Peter Norris, Department of Chemistry
  • Karin A. Petruska, Department of Accounting & Finance
  • Suzanne M. Smith, Health Professions
  • J. Dana Sperry, Department of Art

For excellence in scholarship

  • Ganesaratnum K. Balendiran, Department of Chemistry
  • Patrick J. Bateman, Department of Management
  • Jennifer Behney, Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures
  • Dragana Crnjak, Department of Art
  • Douglas T. Genna, Department of Chemistry
  • Priscilla N. Gitimu, Department of Human Ecology
  • Helen (Guohong) Han-Haas, Department of Management
  • Michael Jerryson, Department of Philosophy & Religious Studies
  • Tom Oder, Department of Physics & Astronomy

For excellence in service

  • Rebecca L. Badawy, Department of Management
  • Claudia Berlinski, Department of Art
  • Chester R. Cooper, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Matthew J. Paylo, Department of Counseling, School Psychology & Educational Leadership
  • Albert J. Sumell, Department of Economics
  • Jamal Tartir, Department of Mathematics & Statistics
  • Jeffrey L. Tyus, Department of Communication
  • Daniel J. Van Dussen, Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Gerontology

Two faculty members will receive the Distinguished Professor Designation: Patrick J. Bateman, Department of Management and Ken Learman, Department of Physical Therapy.

In addition, the following will receive Part-Time Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards:

  • Larry M. Bartos, Department of Communication
  • Thomas R. Delvaux, Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Gerontology
  • Katherine Durrell, Departments of Physics & Astronomy and Kinesiology & Sport Science
  • Teresa Leone, Department of English
  • Joseph A. Nuzzi, Department of Criminal Justice & Forensic Sciences
  • Sherdene A. Simpson, Department of Counseling, School Psychology & Educational Leadership

Other awards include the Excellence Award for Department Chairperson in Scholarship to Joseph J. Mistovich, Department of Health Professions; the Excellence Award for Department Chairperson in Teaching to Nancy Landgraff, Department of Physical Therapy; and Watson Merit Awards to Bruce Keillor, Department of Marketing; and W. Gregg Sturrus, Department of Physics & Astronomy.