College Tech Prep

Northeast Regional Center for College Tech Prep

The Northeast Regional Center for College Tech Prep is one of six centers across Ohio geared towards creating articulation and easing the transition to college for students in career-technical education. The NERC is formed through collaboration The Cuyahoga Community College, Lakeland Community College, Lorain County Community College, North Central State College, Stark State College, The University of Akron and Youngstown State University. These eight postsecondary institutions will ensure northeast Ohio students have access to meaningful articulation agreements and educators throughout the region are supported.

The Northeast Regional Center encompasses the geographic region of the following 18 counties: Ashland, Ashtabula, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Erie, Geauga, Huron, Lake, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, and Wayne.

Through this joint venture, the eight institutions have come together in a unique partnership with the goal of supporting students, teachers, counselors, and administrators. The main purpose of the collaboration is to create meaningful articulation agreements with local secondary high schools and Career Technical Planning Districts.

College Tech Prep programs of study combine college prep academic courses with advanced training in the latest technologies. They are a planned sequence of study in a technology area beginning in the 11th grade and continuing through an approved apprenticeship, certificate, associate, or baccalaureate degree program. This sequence is designed to avoid duplication of coursework and in a seamless career pathway.

Each College Tech Prep/career-technical program of study is designed with a common core of proficiency in communications, mathematics, science, and technology. Technical curricula are designed based on technical competencies developed by secondary education, postsecondary education, business/industry, and labor.