YSU's top researchers honored

research graphic

The Youngstown State University Office of Research Services honored faculty and staff at the annual research awards luncheon earlier this month.

“These recipients represent just a sample of the productive, high-caliber faculty we have conducting research and engaging students all across campus,” said Severine Van slambrouck, director of Research Services at YSU.

The following awards were given to recognize significant impact on the university’s research activities:

  • Beeghly College of Education Research Award: Department of Teacher Education, Kristen Italiano – The Grow Up Great Academy.
  • Bitonte College of Health and Human Services Research Award: Department of Nursing, Valerie O’Dell – Nurse Anesthetist Traineeship Program FY19.
  • Cliffe College of Creative Arts and Communication Research Award: Dean Phyllis Paul and National Endowment for the Arts team.
  • College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Research Award: World Languages and Cultures, Diana Palardy – Latino Voices of the Valley: An Oral History Project, Digital Maps in Spain.
  • College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Award: Department of Civil/Environmental Engineering, Suresh Sharma – several projects involving soil quality and ongoing efforts to restore Ohio’s Mentor Marsh.
  • Williamson College of Business Administration Research Award: Department of Marketing, Laura Dewberry – 2019 Nonprofit Leadership Summer Honors Institute Program.
  • Research Enterprise Support Award: Office of Marketing and Communications, Bob Tupaj.
  • Administrative Support Award: Office of Research, Cheryl Coy.
  • Junior Faculty Award: Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Cory Brozina.
  • Career Award: Department of Chemistry, Doug Genna.