YSU Phi Kappa Phi marks 50th anniversary

phi kappa phiFrom Sally Hotchkiss to Bege Bowers, John Loch to Lowell Satre, the list of past presidents of Youngstown State University’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi reads like a hall of fame of YSU notables across the years.

This year, Chapter 143 marks its 50th anniversary. “For half a century, Chapter 143 has kept the tradition of excellence and the love of learning alive at YSU by honoring students, faculty, staff, alumni and community members who have achieved the highest distinction in their fields,” said Emilie Brown, coordinator of STEM Outreach and Scholarships at YSU and current chapter president.

PKP is the oldest, largest and most selective multi-disciplinary academic honor society in the United States. With chapters on 325 university campuses, the Society has inducted more than 1.5 million members since its founding in 1897 and now represents a global network of the nation’s best and brightest community of scholars and professionals.

At YSU, the Society started on May 19, 1972, when the university hosted the inaugural induction of 22 students, faculty and staff. Over the past 50 years, more than 4,800 students, staff, faculty and community leaders have been added to their ranks.

“Chapter 143 members have been leaders on the YSU campus,” Brown said. “They have risen to positions of leadership in their professions and professional organizations, in their communities and civic organizations.”

Brown said the YSU chapter has consistently earned national recognition, including national Love of Learning Awards, study abroad scholarships, fellowships and literacy grants. Local members have also been bestowed with Distinguished Member designations and have served as officers in the national organization.

The latest group of 67 inductees - 34 graduate students and 33 undergraduates - were inducted March 30. Brad Newcomer, executive director and chief executive of the national office of PKP, was the keynote speaker at the banquet. 

Alumni members honored at the event were Vincenzo Brancaccio, chief executive, Help Network of Northeast Ohio; Joseph Caruso, president and chief executive, COMPASS Family and Community Services; Susan Laird, executive director, Northeast Ohio Coalition Against Human Trafficking; and Jennifer Roller, president, Raymond John Wean Foundation. 
Among the activities planned to mark the 50th anniversary is a tree dedication 3 p.m. May 19, on the patio area of DeBartolo Hall on campus. 

For more information, contact Brown at egbrown02@ysu.edu or 330-941-2884.