45 students, two profs inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma honorary

Beta Gamma Sigma 2018 Induction Ceremony
From left to right: Levi Smith, Brigham Sloan, Alyssa Carline, Jade Kimble, Kelly Deal, Patrick Bonnette, Carla Spackman, Natalie Eddy, Julianna Villani, Alexander Bogar, Alanis Chew, Billy Blaze, Megan Guliano, Emily Huggins, Carly Chopp, Anna Henkels, Evan Landgraff, Dr. Emre Ulusoy, Justin Metzel, Mr. Ed Muransky, Dean Betty Jo Licata, Dr. William Vendemia, Ryan Miller, Morgan Sanner, Hunter Miller, Dr. Doori Song, Megan Factor, Matthew Gabriele, Kristen Day, Jared Rothbauer, Joseph Scott, Sean Carnahan, Maria Moschella, Seth Hughes, Marisa Limperos, Daniel Yergan, Nicole Pavlansky and Cassidy Stoddard.

The Youngstown State University Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, hosted by the Williamson College of Business Administration, installed 45 business students and two professors during induction ceremonies on campus.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the world’s premier business honorary reserved exclusively for schools accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Only the top 10 percent of the sophomore, junior, or senior business majors or the top 20 percent of the master's students are eligible for membership.

The ceremony marked the 19th induction class at YSU. The Williamson College has now inducted 816 students.

Students inducted include: Alyssa Conn of Austintown; Aleah Hughes and Levi Smith of Berlin Center; Matthew Gabriele, Jade Kimble, Justin Metzel and Jared Rothbauer of Boardman; Carly Chopp, Kelly Deal, Conner Delahunty, Kelly McHenry, Ryan Miller and David Yergan of Canfield; Haley Tohm of Columbiana; Brigham Sloan of Conneaut; Natalie Eddy and Seth Hughes of Cortland; Billy Blaze and Noah Cole of Hermitage, Pa.; Aimee Gysegem and Hunter Miller of Howland; Justin Bettura of Hubbard; Ramsay Bagheri of Liberty; Megan Creager of Milford; Sean Carnahan of New Castle, Pa.; Alyssa Carline, Alanis Chew, Emily Huggins, Grace Kennedy, Maria Moschella, Scott Todd and Julianna Villani of Poland; Morgan Sanner of Rock Creek; Patrick Bonnette and Marisa Limperos of Warren; Evan Landgraff of Washington, Pa.; and Carla Spackman of West Farmington.

In addition to the 45 inductees, eight students received 2nd Recognition Certificates - Christopher Anderson, Nicole Pavlansky and Matthew Veneskey of Boardman; Alexander Bogar of Canfield; Nicole Davis of Poland; Cassidy Stoddard of Salem; Megan Guliano of Warren; and Stephen Bevan of Youngstown. Certificates are reserved for students who have been inducted as undergraduates and then meet the standard for induction again in their graduate programs.

Also, two professors, both of whom have recently been granted tenure in the college, were inducted – Doori Song and Emre Ulusoy, both of the department of Marketing received lifetime memberships.

Ed Muransky, founder and chairman of the board of The Muransky Companies, was the keynote speaker and was recognized as the chapter honoree and inducted into the honor society.

The YSU chapter’s student officers are President Kristen Day along and vice presidents Megan Factor, Joseph Scott and Adam Zimmerman.

Betty Jo Licata, WCBA dean, a strong supporter of the Beta Gamma Sigma chapter since its initial installation in 2000, serves as immediate past chair of the International Board of Governors, having served as the chair for three years.

This year the Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at YSU was recognized for Highest Honors on the organization’s Collegiate Chapter Honor Roll. The chapter earned this recognition based upon both its outstanding acceptance rate of invitees and its broad participation in activities sponsored by Beta Gamma Sigma. The YSU chapter was among only 52 chapters throughout the world to receive this recognition. 

William G. Vendemia, Youngstown, is the chapter advisor.