Exhibition Schedule

EXHIBITION SCHEDULE 2018-2019

Sanctuary

September 7 – October 26, 2018
Public Reception, Friday, September 7, 5-7pm
John Guy Petruzzi, an Ohio artist and YSU alumnus, explores issues of climate change, declining biodiversity and habitat loss through a series of intense watercolors.

RESORT

September 7 – October 26, 2018
Public Reception, Friday, September 7, 5-7pm
A traveling exhibition of works by Susanne Slavick and Andrew Ellis Johnson that offer a compelling exploration of the barriers to asylum in the ongoing global refugee crisis.

Susanne Slavick and Andrew Ellis Johnson, RESORT Gallery Talk


Friday, September 7, 5pm

New Immigrant and Refugee Visions, Short Films


Preview screening—Friday,
September 7, 6-7pm, 
All additional screenings 12:30 to 1:30pm—Tuesday,
September 11; Friday, September 14; Tuesday, September 25; Friday, September
28; Tuesday, October 9; Friday, October 12; Tuesday, October 23 and Friday,
October 26
Films by new immigrants, about immigrant experiences. Community Supported Film.

John Guy Petruzzi, Sanctuary Gallery Talk

Wednesday, September 19, 5:10pm

John Guy Petruzzi, Guided Bird Walk | Mill Creek Wildlife Sanctuary

Saturday, September 22, 9am 

In conjunction with his Sanctuary exhibition at the McDonough Museum local artist, educator, and park volunteer John Guy Petruzzi will lead a guided bird walk at the Mill Creek Wildlife Sanctuary. Space is limited. Register at Ford Nature Center by 9/20, call 330.740.7107.

Sanctuary Panel Discussion: The Fate of Birds

Wednesday, October 3, 11am-12pm 

Dr. Brian Bonhomme, Dr. Ian Renne and John Guy Petruzzi
During this panel discussion, Dr. Brian Bonhomme will discuss the
origins of the idea of biodiversity and extinction as related to bird
species, and Dr. Ian Renne will address avian conservation in the
Anthropocene. Artist, John Guy Petruzzi, will moderate the conversation, and
bridge the connection between his paintings of endangered and extinct birds,
and the topics at hand.

Imin Yeh, Department of Art Lecture Series

Wednesday, October 17, 2018, 5:10pm

Diana Cooper, Department of Art Lecture Series

Wednesday, October 24, 2018, 5:10pm

LAUREN GOSHINSKI LECTURE

Monday, November 5, 2018, 5:10pm

Eric Lopresti, Department of Art Lecture Series

Wednesday, November 14, 2018, 5:10pm

Fall Graduating BFA Exhibition

November 16 – December 7, 2018
Public Reception, Friday, November 16, 5-7pm
An exhibition of work by students graduating in the fall semester from the Department of Art at YSU.

MFA STUDENT EXHIBITION

November 16 – December 7, 2018
Public Reception, Friday, November 16, 5-7pm
Individual and collaborative works by first and second
year MFA Interdisciplinary Visual Arts students, Venise Abell, David
Belgrad, Kathleen Gallagher and Christina Owens

SOFIA CAETANO LECTURE

Monday, November 19, 2018, 5:10pm

FACES RECITAL

Thursday, November 29, 2018, 7:30pm
Watch Spoonbeams in concert as they perform and discuss abstract music,
featuring Faces, a piece composed by crowd-sourced faces!

Empty Bowls YSU, Charity Event 
Proceeds benefit the Rescue Mission of Mahoning Valley

Saturday, December 1, 11am-4pm | Seatings:11am | 12:30pm | 2pm
Online Tickets $15 Each | Tickets at the door $20
Presented by the Ceramics Program in the Department of Art

BRIANNA CRAWFORD’S SENIOR RECITAL

Friday, December 7, 2018, 6pm
A senior recital completed in effort to obtain a BM in Vocal Music Education.

Jennifer Vanderpool, Department of Art Lecture Series

Thursday, January 24, 5:10pm

2019 Alumni Exhibition

January 26 – March 7, 2019
Public Reception, Saturday, January 26, 5-7 pm
Juried works in various media by graduates from the Department of Art at Youngstown State University.

Gloria Wilson, Department of Art Lecture Series

Wednesday, February 6, 2019, 5:10pm

Murray Robertson, Department of Art Lecture Series

Wednesday, February 27, 2019, 5:10pm

83rd Annual Juried Student Art & Design Exhibition

March 29 – April 12, 2019
Public Reception, Friday, March 29, 5-7pm
The annual juried exhibition of work by students currently enrolled in the Department of Art at YSU.

Teri Frame, Department of Art Lecture Series

Wednesday, April 3, 2019, 5:10pm

TERI FRAME, WHITEFACE

Thursday, April 4, 2019, 5:30pm
A performance piece by artist Teri Frame in collaboration with the Dana School of Music

Spring Graduating BFA Exhibition

April 26 – May 11, 2019
Public Reception, Friday, April 26, 5-7pm
An exhibition of work by students graduating in the spring semester from the Department of Art at YSU.