YSU Phi Kappa Phi receives top national award

The YSU chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi has achieved Circle of Excellence Platinum status for 2018-19, the highest award in the society’s Circle of Honor Awards Program.

“We are so honored to receive this award which recognizes the dedication and hard work of all the students, faculty and staff who are committed to the love of learning,” Karen Becker, president of the YSU chapter and director of First Year Experience at YSU.

Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective honor society for all disciplines, recognizes outstanding chapters for promoting excellence on the local campus and engaging the community of scholars each year.

YSU Phi Kappa Phi officers, left to right, include Secretary Joshua Bodnar, Past President Ron Shaklee, President Elect Mollie Hartup, President Karen Becker, Board Member at Large Emilie Brown and Treasurer Jolien Helsel. Officers not pictured include Vice President Noreen Moderalli, Student Vice Presidents Alanis Chew, Christine Langer, Lexi Rager and Austin Ward, Publicity Officer Julie Felix, Web Manager Sal Sanders, Historian Sharon Stringer and Board Member at Large Tom Wakefield.


Members of the YSU chapter include faculty, staff, students, alumni and community leaders. Each year, the organization hosts activities and events for social, networking and community engagement purposes. YSU Phi Kappa Phi also awards local scholarships and supports campus academic initiatives.

In recent years, several YSU students, faculty and staff have received national awards from Phi Kappa Phi, which is open to scholars from all disciplines. Ron Shaklee, past president and chair of the YSU Geography and Urban Regional Studies Department, also serves on the national fellowship committee.

Top ranked students were invited to membership earlier this year. Those who join will be inducted at a ceremony on March 27.