YSU chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma inducts new members

From left to right: First row: Alexandra Wildes, Amanda Cutlip, Benjamin Vitek, Brett Kirk, Abigail Shepley, Abbey Berick, My Le, Evan Landgraff, Morgan Sanner, Dylan Anders, Emily Huggins, Scott Duffy, Sara Joseph, Kelli Dougherty, Anastasia Crankovic, Zoe DiDomenico, Margaret Gates, Dr. Christina Saenger, Monica Temnick. Second row: Adam Aras, Brianna McGuire, Anthony Adams, Thao Pham, Ujala Wyne, Toni Scanlon, Gianna Cifalde, Stephen Stanko, Dante DeLullo, Matthew Steer, Sabrina Rodgers, Hanna Rohrmann, Sarah Mathews, Nathaniel Dowell, Christopher Gerberry, Paije Georgeoff, Chloe Goehring, Amanda Paynter, James Jefferis, Janet Potts. Third row: Beau Weaver, Caleb Mercer, Mario Ricciardi, Anthony Nakley, Jacob Guy, Brooke Lissy, Andrew Klapac, Erin Kalahar.

The Youngstown State University Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, hosted by the Williamson College of Business Administration, installed 55 business students and one professor during induction ceremonies on campus.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the world’s premier business honorary reserved exclusively for schools accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Only the top 10 percent of the sophomore, junior, or senior business majors or the top 20 percent of the master's students are eligible for membership.

The ceremony marked the 19th induction class at YSU. The Williamson College has now inducted 816 students.

Students inducted include: Sabrina Rodgers of Andover; Abbey Berick, Scott Duffy, Christopher Gerberry, Andrew Klapac, Joseph McGuigan, Amanda Paynter, and Monica Temnick of Austintown; Adam Aras, Anne Carbon, Kelli Dougherty, Sarah Mathews, Kenneth McBride, Mario Ricciardi, and Stephen Stanko of Boardman; Zoe DiDomenico, Paije Georgeoff, Hannah Nischwitz, Benjamin Vitek, and Robert Zwicker of Canfield; Hunter Dauterman of Columbiana; Michael Dyer of Cortland; Ryan Cook of East Liverpool; Alexander Robb of East Palestine; Hanna Rohrmann of Enon Valley, Pa.; Brianna McGuire of Gallipolis; Janet Potts, Abigail Shepley, and Hannah Thomas of Girard; My Le of Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam; Morgan Buckley of Howland; Nathaniel Dowell of Hubbard; Chloe Goehring of Industry, Pa.; Margaret Gates of Irwin, Pa.; Erin Kalahar of Jackson, Miss.; Ujala Wyne of Liberty; Anthony Nakley of Lowellville; Sara Joseph of McDonald; Caleb Mercer of New Middletown; Toni Scanlon of Niles; Gianna Cifalde, Jacob Guy, James Jefferis, Beau Weaver, and Andrew Wolfe of Poland; Matthew Steer of Salem; Anthony Adams and Alexandra Wildes of Struthers; Thao Pham of Thu Dau Mot, Viet Nam; Christopher Hammond of Warren; Brett Kirk of West Middlesex; Anastasia Crankovic of Wexford, Pa.; and Brooke Lissy of Windham.

In addition two students received 2nd Recognition Certificates - Amanda Cutlip of Austintown and Dante DeLullo of Boardman. Certificates are reserved for students who have been inducted as undergraduates and then meet the standard for induction again in their graduate programs.

Also, professor of Marketing Christina Saenger of Rootstown was inducted and received lifetime membership. Saenger has recently been granted tenure in the college.

Scott Schulick, Vice President of Investments for Stifel Investment Services, was the keynote speaker.

In honor of the YSU Chapter's the 20th induction ceremony, Helen Savage, professor emeritus of Accounting was in attendance. Savage filed the charter to establish the YSU chapter. WCBA has inducted 871 students since its first installation on June 11, 2000.

Betty Jo Licata, WCBA dean, a strong supporter of the Beta Gamma Sigma chapter since its initial installation in 2000, serves as immediate past chair of the International Board of Governors, having served previously as the chair.

This year the Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at YSU was recognized for Highest Honors on the organization’s Collegiate Chapter Honor Roll. The chapter earned this recognition based upon both its outstanding acceptance rate of invitees and its broad participation in activities sponsored by Beta Gamma Sigma. The YSU chapter was among only 145 chapters throughout the world to receive this recognition. 

William G. Vendemia, professor of Management, is the chapter advisor.