Scholastic Art Awards Exhibit runs through Jan. 24 on campus

Artwork from middle and high school students in Mahoning, Trumbull, Columbiana and Ashtabula counties is featured in the 2018 Northeastern Ohio Regional Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition at Youngstown State University.

The exhibition will be displayed Jan. 8 through 24 in two locations in YSU’s Bliss Hall - the Judith Rae Solomon Gallery on the second floor and the Art Department on the fourth floor. The gallery is open weekdays 8 to 5 p.m.

“The Scholastic Art event is a great way to highlight local artistic talent at the junior high and high school levels and to celebrate their accomplishments,” said Joy Christiansen Erb, acting chair of the Department of Art at YSU.

An awards ceremony will be held at noon Saturday, Jan. 13 in Bliss Hall’s Ford Theater. The ceremony will feature awards given to students who received Gold and Silver Key awards as well as Honorable Mention awards. The 737 regional entries reflect each participating school’s outstanding student work. From these entries a panel of judges selects works to receive Honorable Mention, Silver and Gold keys and five nominations for the prestigious American Visions Awards. The American Visions Award and Gold Key finalists will be sent to New York to compete for awards and possible scholarships with other student entries from across the nation.

The Scholastic Art Awards program is the largest and most comprehensive annual student art competition in America. Founded in 1927 by Scholastic Inc., the Scholastic Art Awards program is dedicated to recognizing the achievements of young artists. The program has recognized more than 13 million creative teenagers, including Andy Warhol and Robert Redford in its 90-year history.

The following schools are participating:

Ashtabula County: Grand Valley High School, Jefferson Area High School.

Columbiana County: Leetonia High School, Salem High School, United Local High School, and Wellsville Jr. Senior High School.

Mahoning County: Austintown Fitch High School, Boardman High School, Cardinal Mooney High School, Canfield High School, Holy Family School, Jackson-Milton High School, Lowellville High School, Mahoning County Career and Technical Center, Poland Seminary High School, Saint Christine School, South Range High School, Struthers High School, Ursuline High School, Valley Christian School, and West Branch High School.

Trumbull County: Champion High School, Champion Middle School, Howland High School, Hubbard High School, John F. Kennedy High School, Joseph Badger High Schools, LaBrae High School, Lakeview High School, Mathews High School, Mineral Ridge High School, Newton Falls High School, Niles McKinley High School, Niles Middle School, Trumbull Career and Technical Center, Warren G. Harding High School, Warren Jefferson Pk-8 School, and Warren McGuffey Pk-8 School.