Professors honored at Diversity Leadership event March 22

Michael Jerryson
Michael Jerryson

Michael Jerryson, associate professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies, and Sherri Harper Woods, assistant professor of Social Work, receive Campus Leadership Awards at the annual Youngstown State University Diversity Leadership Recognition Dinner 5:30 p.m. Thursday, March 22, in Stambaugh Auditorium.

Sherri Harper Woods
Sherri Harper Woods

The award honors faculty, staff and administrators who are leaders in diversity and inclusion.

Other award winners include:

Leader of Tomorrow: Catherine Cooper, graduate student, Department of Counseling, School Psychology and Educational Leadership, majoring in Student Affairs and College Counseling.

Community Leadership: Brian Corbin, executive vice president of Member Services Catholic Charities.

The YSU Division of Multicultural Affairs has also announced that the following students have been selected to receive Diversity Leadership Scholarships:

  • Riley K. Chiu, sophomore, Biology-Pre Medical.
  • Araceli Perez, junior, Exercise Science.
  • Hadeal M. Yusuf, junior, Didactic Program in Dietetics.

The recipient of the Diversity Leadership Achievement Award, recognizing a college, program, organization, business or group that has made significant measurable achievements in diversity and inclusion, will be announced at the event. YSU student Natalie Nguyen of Hanoi, Vietnam will be the special guest at the dinner. The Navarro Executive Fellows will also be a part of the program.

Tickets for the event are on sale at Stambaugh Auditorium. Tickets are also available at or 330-259-0555.