

BOARD OF TRUSTEES GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE Delores E. Crawford, Chair David C. Deibel, Vice Chair All Trustees are Members

Thursday, June 7, 2018 10:00 a.m. Tod Hall Board Meeting Room

AGENDA

- A. Disposition of Minutes for Meetings Held on March 15, 2017; and March 14, 2018
- **B.** Committee Items
 - 1. Governance Action Items
- Tab B.1.aa) Appointment of Eric A. Spiegel as First National/Global Trustee at
Youngstown State University
- Tab B.1.bb) Board Committee Assignments
 - 2. Governance Discussion Item
 - a) Board Effectiveness
 - C. New Business
 - D. Adjournment



RESOLUTION OF APPOINTMENT NATIONAL/GLOBAL TRUSTEE – ERIC A. SPIEGEL

WHEREAS, Article IV, Paragraph B. of the *Bylaws of the Board of Trustees of Youngstown State University* provides that, in order to take advantage of the diverse talents, resources and experiences of friends and alumni of the University, the Board may nominate and appoint up to three (3) persons to the position of National/Global Trustee; and

WHEREAS, Mahoning Valley native Eric A. Spiegel is a Special Advisor to General Atlantic LLC, is the past President and Chief Executive Officer of Siemens, USA, and in May 2015 received an honorary Doctor of Business Administration degree from Youngstown State University; and

WHEREAS, Eric A. Spiegel is eminently qualified to serve as the Board's first appointment to the nonvoting position of National/Global Trustee.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of Youngstown State University does hereby appoint Mr. Eric A. Spiegel as a National/Global Trustee, for a three-year term effective ______, 2018, and concluding ______, 2018, pursuant to Article IV of the Board's *Bylaws*.

Board of Trustees Meeting June 7, 2018 YR 2018Agenda Item _____



YOUNGSTOWN STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMITTEES Delores E. Crawford, Chair David C. Deibel, Vice Chair 2018-2019

STANDING COMMITTEES

ACADEMIC AND STUDENT AFFAIRS

YOUNGSTOWN

UNIVERSITY

STATE

James E. "Ted" Roberts, Chair Molly S. Seals, Vice Chair All Trustees are Members

FINANCE AND FACILITIES

John R. Jakubek, Chair Anita A. Hackstedde, Vice Chair All Trustees are Members

AUDIT SUBCOMMITTEE

John R. Jakubek, Chair Michael A. Peterson, Vice Chair David C. Deibel Charles T. George Lexi E. Rager

INVESTMENT SUBCOMMITTEE

Anita A. Hackstedde, Chair Capri S. Cafaro, Vice Chair Molly S. Seals James E. "Ted" Roberts *New Student Trustee*

INSTITUTIONAL ENGAGEMENT

Molly S. Seals, Chair Michael A. Peterson, Vice Chair All Trustees are Members

UNIVERSITY AFFAIRS

Anita A. Hackstedde, Chair James E. "Ted" Roberts, Vice Chair All Trustees are Members

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Delores E. Crawford, Chair David C. Deibel, Vice Chair Anita A. Hackstedde James E. "Ted" Roberts John R. Jakubek Molly S. Seals

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Delores E. Crawford, Chair David C. Deibel, Chair All Trustees are Members

Rev. 5-9-18