Excellence Through Engagement Committee (ETEC)



Youngstown State University strives to achieve a welcoming, safe, equitable and inclusive campus climate for all students, faculty, staff and visitors to learn and work together in alignment with the University’s mission and policies.  Our campus community is enriched by the presence of people of different abilities, ages, colors, creeds, cultures, races, ethnicities, gender identities, gender expressions, political views, religious, spiritual, and philosophical beliefs, sexual orientations, socioeconomic statuses, educational backgrounds and veteran statuses. 

Excellence through Engagement helps us understand that we must learn to celebrate each other’s accomplishments that create a spirit of excellence and healthy competition among all social groups. It leads to an understanding that true success is better shared; therefore, collaboration and partnerships with other individuals or groups is imperative to the progress of the entire community.


The Excellence through Engagement Committee (ETEC) is formed to:


  • Engage with all new students and their families in an effort to orient them to the YSU culture and ease their transition to college life.
  • Promote programming and events on campus and within the community that acknowledge and celebrate the accomplishments and milestones of our students, faculty, staff, administration, and alumni.
  • Encourage engagement through the development and maintenance of service partnerships across campus and throughout the Youngstown community.



Excellence Through Engagement Committee


Michael Glonek, Co-Chair

Nicole Kent-Strollo, Co-Chair

Amy Kyte, Co-Secretary

Laura Robich, Co-Secretary


Mackenzi Brozovich, Graduate Student


Deanna Bryant, Police Officer 2

YSU Police Department


Amy Cossentino, Director

Honors College


Katherine Garlick, Assistant Professor

Theater & Dance


Michael Glonek, Program Developer

STEM College


Patricia Hoyson, Professor



Corona (Shuiping) Jiang, Assistant Director

International Admissions Recruitment

International Programs


Jacci Johnson, Assistant Director

Undergraduate Admissions, Enrollment


Nicole Kent-Strollo, Director

Student Outreach & Support

Division of Student Success


Patrick Kerrigan, Executive Director (Community)

Oak Hill Collaborative 


Amy Kyte, Administrative Assistant



Megan List, Assistant Professor

Teacher Education


Jill Mogg, Administrative Assistant  

Physics & Astronomy


Justin Munz, Coordinator



Laura Robich, Clinical Service Student Coordinator



Sharon Schroeder, Assistant Director

Metro College Outreach


Theresa Swindler, Coordinator

BSW Internship, Social Work


Joseph Valko, Student


Lance Williams, Coordinator

Math Assistance Center